A. Paul Johnson - String Quartets No. 4 & 5 CD

In stock

The 4th & 5th String Quartets of A. Paul Johnson both take inspiration from American music, though with very different origins.

The String Quartet No. 4 "Early American" is based on folk music and Native American themes, while the String Quartet No. 5 "A Triptych on Red Skelton Tunes" utilizes three themes from the music of American comedian & actor Red Skelton. The two works create a striking contrast where you can hear the voice of the composers both modern and of folk music come through.

Track Listing

  1. String Quartet No. 4: I. Moderato, ma con moto marcato (04:02)
  2. String Quartet No. 4: II. Adagio (03:15)
  3. String Quartet No. 4: III. Allegretto (02:49)
  4. String Quartet No. 4: IV. Allegro vivace (04:26)
  5. String Quartet No. 5: I. Homage to 'A Wooden Ballerina' (03:26)
  6. String Quartet No. 5: II. Homage to 'The Merry Blacksmith' (06:50)
  7. String Quartet No. 5: III. Homage to 'Red's White and Blue March' (04:39)


This is the debut album featuring The Castleton String Quartet, founded by members of the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra:

  • Sophia Cho-Hawkey, Violin
  • Melissa Deal, Violin
  • Amy Kniffen, Viola
  • Stephen Hawkey, Cello

Listen to the Album on Spotify

More Information
SKU A-00003-CD
Brand Performer's Records
Instrumentation String Quartet
Musical Period Contemporary